The team of the Huntington Disease research group.

Huntington's Disease

Huntington Disease (HD) is an autosomal dominantly inherited, progressive neurodegenerative disorder, which is characterized by psychiatric disturbances, cognitive decline and motor deficits. Most HD patients develop symptoms between 35 and 45 years of age. Until now no effective treatment exists to halt the progression of the disease, which leads to an early death usually 10-15 years after the onset of first symptoms.  HD is caused by a CAG repeat expansion in exon 1 of the HTT gene and therefore it belongs to the group of several polyglutamine diseases.

Our group focuses on the generation and characterization of transgenic rat models for HD. Compared to mice rats are generally less aggressive and exhibit excellent cognitive abilities, which are required to identify subtle deficits in early stages of HD. Other practical advantages of rats are their larger body size, which facilitates invasive in vivo procedures such as sampling of blood and CSF, repeated physiological measurements and surgical interventions. To this end we have developed two unique transgenic rat models for HD, which demonstrate a progressive neurological phenotype and HD specific neuropathological changes. These rat models are highly suited for longitudinal monitoring with behavioral tests and neuroimaging as well as for long-term treatment with novel compounds and many other therapeutic approaches such as microsurgery and stem cell transplantation. Therefore, in collaboration with partners from the pharmaceutical industry and the CHDI Foundation we intend to use these rat models for preclinical trials to test the efficacy of potential therapeutics.

Another focus of our group is the identification of SNPs and other variants that modify the age of onset in HD. Apart from the CAG repeat length of the HTT gene other genetic modifiers have been shown to influence the age of onset in HD. For example we have identified genetic modifiers in the genes HAP1, ATG7 and PGC-1a in our collective of DNA samples from more than 1000 HD Patients. Further functional analyses are currently ongoing and might point to novel targets for therapeutic intervention.

Moreover, we are interested in elucidating the molecular pathomechanisms that underlie HD, e.g. mitochondrial dysfunction or huntingtin cleavage by calpains or caspases. We are also investigating pathways that might be shared with other neurodegenerative diseases such as Spinocerebellar Ataxias or Parkinson Disease. For an overview of ongoing projects please refer to the panel on the left.

Das Team der AG Huntington

Arbeitsgruppe Huntington

Der Morbus Huntington (HD) ist eine autosomal dominant vererbte, progredient verlaufende, neurodegenerative Erkrankung und ist charakterisiert durch psychiatrische Veränderungen, Demenz und Motorfunktionsstörungen. Bei den meisten HD Patienten treten die ersten Symptome zwischen dem 35. und 45. Lebensjahr auf. Eine effektive Therapie existiert bisher nicht; das Voranschreiten der Erkrankung ist derzeit nicht zu verhindern und führt zum Tode, i.d.R. 10-15 Jahre nach dem Auftreten der ersten Symptome. HD wird durch eine Expansion eines CAG-Repeats in der kodierenden Region des Huntingtin-Gens verursacht und gehört daher zur Gruppe der Polyglutamin-Erkrankungen.

Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeitsgruppe liegt auf der Generierung und Charakterisierung von transgenen Rattenmodellen der HD. Verglichen mit Mäusen sind Ratten weniger aggressiv und zeigen hervorragende Lernfähigkeiten, die Voraussetzung sind, um subtile kognitive Einschränkungen in frühen Stadien der HD zu identifizieren. Andere praktische Vorteile der Ratte sind ihre größere Körpergröße, die invasive Prozeduren wie Blut- und Liquorentnahmen, repetitive physiologische Messungen und chirurgische Eingriffe vereinfacht. Unsere Arbeitsgruppe hat zwei einzigartige transgene Rattenmodelle für die HD entwickelt, welche einen progredienten neurologischen Phänotyp und eine HD spezifische Neuropathologie aufweisen. Diese Rattenmodelle sind für Langzeitverlaufsmonitoring mit Verhaltenstests und Neuroimaging, für Langzeitbehandlungen und viele andere therapeutische Ansätze wie z.B. Mikrochirurgie und Stammzelltransplantation hervorragend geeignet. In Kollaboration mit der Pharmaindustrie und Organisationen wie CHDI (Cure Huntington's Disease Initiative) werden daher auch präklinische Studien zur Testung von potentiellen Therapeutika in diesen Ratten durchgeführt.

Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt unserer Arbeitsgruppe ist die Suche nach modifizierenden Genen der Huntington Erkrankung. Neben der Polyglutaminlänge in Huntingtin werden auch Veränderungen in anderen Genen für die Ausprägung der Huntington-Krankheit verantwortlich gemacht. So konnten wir bereits aus einem Kollektiv mit DNA-Proben von mehr als 1000 HD Patienten genetische Modifikatoren in den Genen HAP1, ATG7 und PGC-1α identifizieren. Weiterführende funktionelle Studien werden derzeit durchgeführt und könnten mögliche Angriffspunkte für neue Therapien ergeben.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Arbeitsgruppe ist die Erforschung der molekularen Pathomechanismen der HD, z.B. mitochondriale Dysfunktion oder Proteolyse durch Calpaine und Caspasen. Auch gemeinsame Pathways mit anderen neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen wie SCA3 oder Morbus Parkinson werden untersucht.

Unsere Projekte finden Sie in der linken Menüspalte.