Epigenetics

Projects

The central aim of our research is to decipher epigenetic modifications and their function in neurodegenerative disorders—with a particular focus on Parkinson's disease.

Epigenetic modifications like DNA methylation and histone marks represent the nexus between the internal genetic predisposition for a disease, external influences, and phenotype (Fig. 1). Research over the past years has shown that epigenetic modifications can be influenced and—sometimes reversibly—modified by the social environment, diet, and many other external factors.

Fig 1: Schematic representation of epigenetic modifications at the nexus between environment and phenotype. Environmental factors modulate chromatin, in particular DNA methylation and histone modifications, which in turn influence gene expression and phenotype.
 

For Parkinson's disease in particular, the influence of certain environmental factors has been shown with respect to prevalence and progression of the disease. Stress, for example, can reinforce disease symptoms, whereas a stimulating environment that promotes social interactions, exercises, and cognitive challenges, can ameliorate symptoms and decelerate the disease. Yet, the underlying molecular mechanisms have remained largely unknown so far. Our group’s research is geared towards filling this knowledge gap and understanding the role of epigenetic modifications in these molecular interactions.

Specifically, with our work we are trying (i) to find the epigenetic signature—that is the characteristic modification pattern—of Parkinson's disease, and (ii) to measure the qualitative and quantitative impact of environmental factors on these epigenetic marks.

In a first step, we are using several model organisms to map DNA methylation and histone modification patterns that are characteristic for the disease. Thereby, we identify patterns in the epigenome that differ between the PD models and controls. Moreover, we expose PD and control animals to either a stimulating, stress-inducing, or ordinary environment in order to simulate certain environmental conditions and to measure their influence on epigenetic marks. We pay particular attention to epigenetic changes that occur in brain regions associated with Parkinson’s.

Once we have revealed what epigenetically differentiates PD models and controls, we will in a second step translate our findings to PD patients and study the identified regions of the (epi-)genome in humans. This will allow us to pinpoint epigenetic marks and their alterations in PD patients that may serve as biomarkers and potentially open new avenues for therapeutic treatments.

Arbeitsgruppe Epigenetik

Projekte

Im Fokus unserer Arbeit steht die Untersuchung epigenetischer Modifikationen und ihrer Funktionen in neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen, insbesondere des Morbus Parkinson.

Epigenetische Modifikationen, wie DNA-Methylierung und Histon-Modifikationen, gelten als eine zentrale Schnittstelle zwischen Umwelt, genetischer Prädisposition und Phänotyp (Abb. 1). Sie können durch das soziale Umfeld, die Ernährung und verschiedene andere Faktoren beeinflusst und—teilweise reversibel—verändert werden können.

Abbildung 1: Schematische Darstellung epigenetischer Modifikationen als Schnittstelle zwischen Umwelt und Phänotyp. Umweltfaktoren modulieren das Chromatin, vor allem DNA-Methylierung und Histone-Modifikationen. Diese beeinflussen die Expression von Genen und damit den Phänotyp.
 

Für Morbus Parkinson wurde der Einfluss von Umweltfaktoren in Bezug auf Prävalenz und Verlauf der Krankheit bereits gezeigt. Stress ist beispielweise ein Faktor, der die Krankheitssymptome verstärken kann. Ein stimulierendes Umfeld, welches soziale Interaktionen, Lernen und Bewegung begünstigt, äußert sich hingegen positiv und kann den Krankheitsverlauf verlangsamen. Die diesen Beobachtungen zu Grunde liegenden molekularen Mechanismen sind jedoch bisher weitgehend unbekannt. Es spricht jedoch vieles dafür, dass auch hier epigenetische Veränderungen eine zentrale Rolle spielen.

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe untersucht daher, ob sich epigenetische Modifikationen mit der Parkinson'schen Krankheit verändern und welche Auswirkungen Umwelteinflüsse auf diese Veränderungen haben.

Dazu nutzen wir verschiedene Modellorganismen für die Krankheit, um DNA-Methylierung und Histon-Modifikationen Genom-weit zu kartieren. Das erlaubt uns Genom-Regionen und ihre epigenetischen Muster zu identifizieren, die sich zwischen MP-Modell und Kontroll-Tieren unterscheiden. Darüber hinaus setzen wir sowohl MP- als auch Kontroll-Tiere einer stimulierenden, stressinduzierenden und Standard-Umgebung aus und untersuchen die damit einhergehenden epigenetischen Veränderungen in ihren Genomen. Insbesondere interessieren uns dabei epigenetische Veränderungen, die im Gehirn auftreten.

Ausgehend von den so im Tiermodell identifizierten Genom-Regionen und ihren charakteristischen epigenetischen Signaturen, übertragen wir unsere Ergebnisse auf den Menschen und untersuchen auch dort, wie sich das Epigenom mit der Parkinson'schen Krankheit verändert. Auf diese Weise können epigenetische Veränderungen in Patienten bestimmt und damit neue diagnostische Verfahren und potenziell sogar therapeutische Ansatzpunkte aufgedeckt werden.